MANILA, Sept 24 (Mabuhay) — Taiwan is resuming its visa-free entry policy for Philippine passport holders starting Sept. 29, 2022.

The Bureau of Consular Affairs, in a bulletin dated Sept. 22, has included the Philippines along with 10 additional countries in its list of states eligible for its visa-free entry scheme.

“Nationals of Philippines (effective till July 31, 2023), except those holding diplomatic or official/service passports, are eligible for the visa exemption program, with a duration of stay of up to 14 days,” it said.

Other countries included in the list are Chile, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, and Brunei.

Filipinos were first included in the visa-free policy during a nine-month trial period from November 2017 to July 2018, allowing them to stay visa-free in Taiwan for at least 14 days.

The scheme had been extended yearly since. (MNS)