New Australia Ambassador to the Philippines Hae Kyong Yu (MNS photo)

MANILA, Oct 12 (Mabuhay) — President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. on Tuesday received the credentials of newly appointed ambassadors from Australia, Austrian and The Netherlands at Malacañan Palace.

Malacañang shared photos of the ceremony on the presentation of credentials to reporters but has yet to release further details.

The photos showed the ambassadors Hae Kyong Yu of Australia, Maria Alfonsa Magdalena Geraedts of The Netherlands, and Johan Brieger of Austria signing a guest book in the Palace.

New Austria
Ambassador to the Philippines G. Johann Brieger (MNS photo)

They were also photographed meeting with Marcos and Foreign Affairs Secretary Enrique Manalo and other officials.

In a Facebook post, the Office of the President (OP) said Marcos was hopeful of stronger bilateral ties between the Philippines and Australia, Austria, and The Netherlands.

“The President also expressed optimism that ties between the Philippines and the home nations of the envoys would further strengthen and deepen moving forward,” the OP said.

New Netherlands Ambassador to the Philippines Maria Alfonsa Magdalena Geraedts (MNS photo)

All three new envoys also expressed willingness to work with the Philippine government for stronger ties.

Yu, who replaces Steve Robinson, was a senior career officer with Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and was recently Deputy Head of Mission, Australian Embassy, Tokyo.

In Canberra, she served as First Assistant Secretary, Middle East and Africa Division, and held a number of senior roles in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and in the Treasury.

Geraedts replaced Saskia de Lang while Brieger replaced Bita Rasoulian. (MNS)