Duterte signs four new laws — Sotto

Tuesday, January 5th, 2021. Filed under: News

MANILA, Jan 5 (Mabuhay) — President Rodrigo Duterte signed four new bills into law, Senate President Vicente Sotto III said Monday.

In a message to reporters, Sotto said the newly signed laws were:

  • Doktor Para sa Bayan Act (Republic Act 11509)
  • Alternative Learning System (ALS) Act (Republic Act 11510)
  • Amendments to Organic Agriculture Act of 2010 (Republic Act 11511)

An act authorizing the President to expedite the processing and issuance of national and local permits, licenses and certifications in times of national emergency (Republic Act 11517)

The Doktor Para sa Bayan Act seeks to provide free medical education to “poor but deserving” Filipino students.

Republic Act 11510 institutionalizes the ALS in the country’s basic education program for out-of-school youth and adults.

Republic Act 11511, meanwhile, would strengthen organic agriculture in the Philippines.

The last newly signed law would allow the President to expedite the issuance of permits and licenses in times of national emergency.  (MNS)

READ NEXT: Isabela, Iloilo City reclassified to MGCQ for January-Palace